Columbia Law School

Columbia Law School, located in New York City, is one of the professional schools of Columbia University, a member of the Ivy League. David Schizer is the dean.

Since U.S. News began its survey of law schools in 1987, Columbia has consistently ranked among the top three institutions for academic reputation. Currently, Columbia ranks 4th overall in the 2009 U.S. News & World Report. Columbia ranked 1st for job placement at the nation's elite law firms according to Leiter Ranking's most recent survey.

Admission to Columbia Law is among the most selective in the U.S. with only 15.9% of applicants being accepted in 2008.

Columbia Law School has produced a large number of distinguished alumni including, among others: two Presidents of the United States; nine Justices of the Supreme Court of the United States (three of whom were Chief Justices), including the first Chief Justice of the United States (John Jay); numerous U.S. Cabinet members and Presidential advisors; U.S. Senators and Representatives; members of the federal trial and appellate courts; and academicians and diplomats. Alumni of the Law School have been the president of nineteen colleges and universities. More current members of the Forbes 400 attended Columbia than any other law school. For its teaching and scholarship, Columbia is lauded in international law and intellectual property — constitutional law, criminal law, legal philosophy and critical race theory, among others, are also exceptionally strong. Columbia is also well known for corporate law where it has a storied job placement rate at the nation's top law firms.

Date published: Mar 16, 2009


Syndicate content